## FRESNO COUNTY COMMITTEE ON SCHOOL DISTRICT ORGANIZATION

District 1 Daniel Babshoff Terry L. Cox District 2 Ginny Hovsepian Warren Jennings District 3
James Martinez
Carol Mills

District 4
Kenneth R. Marcantonio
Dr. Lawrence Wilder

District 5
Brian Heryford
Dr. Nellie G. Neri

At Large Frank Butterfield, Jr.

## **MINUTES**

**November 13, 2017** 

- I. CALL TO ORDER/ PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE
- 1. Call Meeting to Order. Dr. Lawrence Wilder called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.
- 2. Flag Salute. The pledge of allegiance was recited.
- II. ROLL CALL

Roll Call – Establish Quorum. Members present: Daniel Babshoff (arrived 5:41 pm), Frank Butterfield, Jr., Terry L. Cox, Brian Heryford, Ginny Hovsepian (arrived 5:32 pm), Warren Jennings, Kenneth R. Marcantonio, James Martinez (arrived 5:44 pm), Carol Mills, Dr. Nellie G. Neri, and Dr. Lawrence Wilder. A quorum was established.

County Superintendent Staff Present: Maiya Yang, General Counsel, Legal Services; Benjamin C. Rosenbaum, Legal Counsel, Legal Services; and Angelica Perea-Gutierrez, Recording Secretary.

III. ADOPT AGENDA

**Adopted Agenda of November 13, 2017.** Motion by Member Mills, seconded by Member Butterfield; motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: Members Butterfield, Cox, Heryford, Hovsepian, Jennings, Marcantonio, Mills, Neri and Wilder

No: None

Absent: Members Babshoff and Martinez

IV. APPROVAL OF NOVEMBER 14, 2016 MINUTES Approved Minutes for November 14, 2016 Board Meeting. Motion by Member Heryfield, seconded by Member Butterfield; motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: Members Butterfield, Cox, Heryford, Hovsepian, Jennings, Marcantonio, Mills, Neri and Wilder

No: None

Absent: Members Babshoff and Martinez

V. RECOGNITION OF SERVICE

**Recognition of Service – Former Members.** Former Members Clint Horwitz and Joan Minasain were recognized with plaques for their years of service.

VI. PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no public comments.

VII. COUNTY COMMITTEE OFFICER ELECTIONS

**A.** Election of Chairperson. Nomination of Member Wilder by Member Jennings, seconded by Member Butterfield. Election of Member Wilder by the following vote:

Minutes: 11/13/2017, Doc# 108986

Yes: Members Butterfield, Cox, Heryford, Hovsepian,

Jennings, Marcantonio, Mills, Neri and Wilder

No: None

Absent: Members Babshoff and Martinez

**B.** Election of Vice Chairperson. Nomination of Member Heryford by Member Hovsepian, seconded by Member Cox. Election of Member Heryford by the following vote:

Yes: Members Butterfield, Cox, Heryford, Hovsepian,

Jennings, Marcantonio, Mills, Neri and Wilder

No: None

Absent: Members Babshoff and Martinez

VIII. TERMINATION OF ATTORNEY REPRESENTATION AGREEMENT

## Termination of Attorney Representation Agreement.

Atkinson, Andelson, Loya, Rudd & Romo. Motion by Member Heryford, seconded by Member Mills; motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: Members Butterfield, Cox, Heryford, Hovsepian,

Jennings, Marcantonio, Mills, Neri and Wilder

No: None

Absent: Members Babshoff and Martinez

## IX. INFORMATION ITEMS

- A. Update Regarding Petition to Create a New Unified School District Within the Boundaries of Coalinga-Huron Unified School District
- B. Update Regarding Potential County Organization Matters
- C. Update Regarding California Public Records Act Legal Developments
- D. Setting Date for 2018 First Meeting Following County Committee Election

Motion to keep 2018 First meeting following County Committee Election separate from Trustee Association Dinner by Member Mills, seconded by Member Butterfield; motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: Members Babshoff, Butterfield, Cox, Heryford,

Hovsepian, Jennings, Marcantonio, Martinez,

Mills, Neri and Wilder

No: None Absent: None

Staff was instructed to set the meeting Monday, November 5, 2018 at 5:30 p.m.

H. COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND STAFF REPORTS There were no reports.

XI. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 5:51 p.m.

/apg

Minutes: 11/13/2017, Doc# 108986 Page 2 of 2